Rutland County Residents Embrace Solar Ownership

In the short span of time from the June 5th launch of our program--Same Sun Solar Powers Rutland County--to its close on July 3rd, 28 homes and businesses have signed contracts to go solar.  The amount of new, clean solar energy created for Rutland County will total approximately 206kW of DC-rated power, generating more than 7 MILLION kilowatt hours of electricity in the 30-year lives of the system.  This is equivalent to offsetting 3,500 TONS of carbon.

“We are so proud that our community has embraced true ownership of solar power”, said Same Sun co-owner Philip Allen. “These relatively small arrays together are equivalent to an industrial site, but are being done one rooftop at a time.”

The program, exclusively for Rutland County residents, was designed to make solar installations affordable for small-scale users, with an already-low starting price having the potential to go even lower when participation levels reach certain points.  The overwhelming response of the community more than met its goal to drive the per watt price to its lowest level. 

“Some of the folks were motivated for environmental reasons, some dislike large-scale commercial developments, and many love the idea of taking control by generating their own power,” added Marlene Allen. “What they all have in common is the desire to save money on their electric bills.” 

The new committed solar owners include David & Elizabeth Gilman of Rutland Optical, Steve & Maryjean Hochberg of Rutland Pharmacy, Will & Jackie Gormly of Mountain Cider Company and Bob & Bonnie Baird of Baird Farm.    The installation below is at the home of Gene and Kathy Felder in Shrewsbury Vermont (below): 


Same Sun is committed to install all systems during 2014, so that home and business owners can take advantage of the 30% Renewable Energy Credit for this year.  Also, they will take advantage of Green Mountain Power’s current $0.06/kWh Gross Solar Credit available this year that will reduce to $0.05/kWh next year, and the $0.25 per watt state rebate that is scheduled to expire at year’s end.